Web Interface

In this tutorial, we’ll show you the different features and functions that are available and are shown on the main page after you login to your Files.com account. The information below is meant for administrator users of an account, not non-administrators whose page may look different and have different functions.

PART 1: Main Site View

This image is showing the main page of an account.

1) is where you will be able to upload your own custom logo for your account on a per-folder basis. This is good for example if you want your logo on all the folders, but have a /client-abc folder that you want to custom brand with their logo. No matter where you are on the site, clicking the logo will always return you back ‘Home’ to the Files tab.

2) is where the main flyout menu is located. To activate the menu, simply click the current logged-in user’s name.

3) will always display the current folder that you’re in. If you go several folders deep, you will see a clickable breadcrumb trail that allows you to traverse through the directory tree to a specific location.

4) are the main tabs for interacting with the current folder (see Part 2 below for an explanation of each tab). Even if you change tabs, the same folder has focus. For example, if you go into folder ‘xyz’, switch to the Permissions tab, and access the permissions for folder ‘xyz’

PART 2: Tabs Breakdown

Files is the location you land on by default when you login or click the logo in the top left. This tab will display all of the files and folders that you upload.

Permissions is where you can assign specific folder permissions to users or groups that you have created. You can give these users permissions in any combination you want. There are five different possible permission types that an administrator can grant users, Write Only in This Folder (able to upload files, but not create or write to subfolders), List / Preview (able to list files and folders and view previews, but not download), Read (list and download only), Write (upload only), Read/Write/Delete (everything plus deletion of files and folders).

Behaviors lets you setup folder behaviors such as Notifications and Webhooks.

History shows a breakdown of all changes made to each file, if they were uploaded, deleted, or renamed, at what time and date, and by whom.

PART 3: Flyout Menu Breakdown

Files allows you to return to the home screen to view your folders and files (along with the tabs listed in Part 2). Clicking on the upper-left logo while located anywhere on the site has the same effect.

Sharing lets an administrator view all active QuickShare or QuickLink bundles, find the date they were shared, who they were shared by, as well as revoke access to them.

Users lets an administrator view, edit or delete all of the users in the main account. Any of a user’s settings can also be configured on this page.

Groups lets an administrator view, edit, or modify groups, as well as assign one or more users to a specific group.

Configuration is where all of the administration settings are for your Files.com™ account. For example, setting a custom domain name, branding your account with custom styling, enabling API’s, editing security features, and to upgrade your account.

Support lets an administrator send an authenticated support request to the Files.com support team. This is also where you can find your 6-digit Support PIN for authenticating with a Files.com support engineer over the phone.

Logout signs the current user out of their account. We recommend that you logout after each session to help protect your account.

PART 4: File and Folder Listing

1) is the filter bar that allows you to quickly sift through the current folder for a file matching a specific name. Just start typing what you are looking for and it will update the window in real-time.

2) is the Upload Files button that allows you to upload files through a dialog box.

3) allows you to create a new folder in the folder you’re currently in. Simply click Create Folder, type in a name, and click Create. You can also choose Cancel if you don’t want to create a new folder.

4) is the rename icon. As you roll over various files or folders, you will see the icons pop up. Simply click the pencil icon next to the file or folder you want to rename, type in the new name, then click save.

5) shows the actions you can perform on a file or folder in addition to renaming them. The series of icons will change depending on if it’s a file or folder. Hover the mouse over an icon without clicking and you will see a tooltip to remind you what the icon is for.

Download as zip downloads the entire directory to your desktop in a single zip file.

Delete removes the current file or folder.

QuickLink allows you to create a ready-to-use special URL that you can give to anyone, and he or she will be able to view that file while not logged in. This is great if you want to share a file with a client or to the public. You can access all current shared links in the Sharing section of the flyout menu.

View History is similar to the History tab, except on a per-file basis.

Preview File in Browser allows you to preview images without actually downloading them.

Priority Flags are a special action that allow you to set a number of colored highlightings on your files and folders. If you click the priority flag once without waiting for the tooltip, it will highlight that resource yellow. Click the flag again to remove highlighting. If you want to choose another color, hover over the icon and wait, and then click the appropriate color from the list of flags that pop up.

6) is the ability to drag a file into a folder to move it. To activate and see this feature, click and hold on your mouse on any file and you will see it become semi-transparent. Now drag the mouse over a folder of your choice. You will see the folder that the file will move into highlight red. When you let go of the mouse, the file will move into that folder instantly.

7) is the additional information area. Your users will see information down here depending on your configuration. For example, your user will see a notice here if you restrict their upload privileges to certain file extensions.

Part 5: Bulk Actions Dropdown

The bulk actions dropdown is hidden by default. Simply click one or more checkboxes next to each file and it will appear. Any action in this dropdown will be applied to all selected files.

Add to QuickShare: QuickShare is exactly like QuickLink (explained in Part 4), except instead of applying to a single file, it applies to any files you have selected to create a shared ‘bundle’. Once you choose Add to QuickShare in the dropdown menu, you will see a link appear to the right which shows how many files were added to the bundle. Simply click this link and a popup window will appear showing you the QuickShare link. All your QuickLinks and QuickShares can be viewed at any time by going to Sharing in the flyout menu.

Download Selected: This will immediately download all selected files and folders as a zip file.

Move: When you select Move, you will see a secondary dropdown menu appear, where you can select the destination that you want to move the selected files or folders to.

Delete: This will allows you to delete many files at once.

Part 6: Drag-and-Drop

Drag and drop is a very convenient feature that allows you to upload files and folders by dragging them into the browser window right from your Windows, Mac, or Linux desktop. Simply highlight and drag them in, and you will see them upload in real-time. Note that if you’re using Internet Explorer 11, you can only drag-and-drop files, not entire folders. Browsers that support uploading folders with drag-and-drop include Google Chrome, Firefox, and MS Edge.

Make sure you don’t navigate away from the window until ALL uploads are complete, or none of them will be saved.