File Expiration


Files.com includes a File Expiration feature to automatically delete files that have existed on your site for a specified number of days.

This feature can be found by navigating into the folder you want to configure the expiration for, and clicking the "Folder settings" button in the top right.

There you can click on the File Expiration setting and specify the number of days after which files should be deleted.

File expiration settings will apply to all files retroactively. This means if you have files older than the time frame you choose, those files will be deleted shortly after updating this setting.

This setting only affects files, so your folder structure will be left intact.

File Expiration settings will not currently work with remote mounted folders, however we hope to lift this limitation in the future.

There is no charge to use File Expiration capabilities.

How Expiration Activity Will Show in Logs

When Files.com performs its automated file expiration sweeps and deletes files, those deletions are recorded in the history logs just like any other deletion. The logs will show that the deletion was performed by robot.

Overriding Settings in Subfolders or Excluding Subfolders Entirely

You can also give subfolders a different expiration setting from the parent folder. You can also exclude subfolders from automated file expiration entirely.

Any user with Folder Admin privileges on the folder is able to apply overrides to this setting on a per-folder basis.

Navigate to Settings > Files > File expiration and click on the Add folder override button. Using the selection window that opens, choose the folder you want to exclude from the expiration policy. Then set the option to "Never delete files in this folder". Repeat the process for any other folders you wish to exclude.

Alternatively, you can navigate directly to a folder you wish to exclude in the files view and open its folder settings. Scroll down to File expiration where you should see that the folder is set to inherit the expiration behavior from the parent. Click open the setting and make the selection you would like for this folder, and then save.

Retaining Deleted Files

The File Expiration folder setting deletes active files after a specified interval.

There is a separate capability beyond File Expiration that relates to how long Deleted Files are retained as backups that are restorable by our Customer Success team. This setting can be found at *Settings > Files > Keep deleted files for. You can set an infinite retention by setting this value to 99999 days.

This feature is not meant to replace proper File Versioning support (which is a long requested feature that we hope to implement in the future), but it does provide a way to restore previous versions of files if they were uploaded via the Web app as a fresh upload.

Files modified using FTP, SFTP, or other apps that modify files inline without uploading them as a fresh upload may not be stored as a fresh version for restoration purposes.

Note that each restore does require a manual request to our Customer Success team and can take a while to get processed, and is really meant for emergency purposes only, not routine business use. A Self Service restoration option ("Trash Can" or "Recycle Bin") is an often requested feature that we hope to implement in the future.

The storage used to store these files will count as Usage.

Get Instant Access to Files.com

The button below will take you to our Free Trial signup page. Click on the white "Start My Free Trial" button, then fill out the short form on the next page. Your account will be activated instantly. You can dive in and start yourself or let us help. The choice is yours.

Start My Free Trial

©2022 Files.com. All right reserved

FILES.COM

  • Start My Free Trial
  • Pricing
  • Docs
  • API and SDKs
  • Contact

CONTACT & SUPPORT

support@files.com

(800) 286-8372

Monday–Friday

9am–8pm Eastern