Overwrite Behavior Setting for Web Interface


By default, when uploading a file to the Web Interface and a file of the same name already exists, Files.com will rename the new file by appending a digit to the filename.

This ensures that drag and dropping a file never results in data loss by overwriting an old file.

Files.com offers an alternate behavior where you can have users instead receive a prompt asking to Overwrite the file or Cancel the upload.

This can be turned on by going to Settings > Files > Overwrite behavior.

This is a site-wide setting and may not be customized by folder. We think that having the behavior of overwrites different in different folders is too confusing, so we are not inclined to support that.

This setting is meant to only impact the Web interface. It should not impact uploads made via the API, SDKs, FTP, SFTP, Zapier, or other integrations.

Get Instant Access to Files.com

The button below will take you to our Free Trial signup page. Click on the white "Start My Free Trial" button, then fill out the short form on the next page. Your account will be activated instantly. You can dive in and start yourself or let us help. The choice is yours.

Start My Free Trial

©2022 Files.com. All right reserved

FILES.COM

  • Start My Free Trial
  • Pricing
  • Docs
  • API and SDKs
  • Contact

CONTACT & SUPPORT

support@files.com

(800) 286-8372

Monday–Friday

9am–8pm Eastern