Files.com is a service hosted in the cloud, and in many use cases, file data is both passed through our network for file transfers and stored on our storage.
Files.com also supports a wide variety of integration scenarios, including the ability to access other cloud and on-premise storage, and the use of a variety of apps.
Because of the wide variety of situations, the topic of Billable Usage is somewhat complex.
We try to have our approach to charging for Usage be customer-friendly in two different ways:
- With regard to our integrations and apps, we try to build these such that file transfers only travel through our network where required for security or performance. We are able to support direct transfer of files from your app through to the other cloud or on-premise service for the most popular combinations of apps and integrations. More on this below.
- Where we do use the Files.com network for transfer and storage, we charge reasonable prices with no minimums. Pricing starts at $0.10/GB and can scale to as low as $0.04/GB with an appropriate annual commitment. Please contact us to learn more about annual commitments for Usage.
We bill based on one total monthly number called "Usage," represents your total billable usage of the Files.com Service. This "Usage" number is the sum of your "Storage Usage" and your "Transfer Usage."
You can find the details on Usage calculation in our Terms of Service.
Usage is calculated for each 30-day “Usage Period” that your account is open.
If your account is billed monthly, your Usage Period will coincide with your monthly billing term.
If your account is billed annually, we divide your annual billing term into twelve Usage Periods. If your account is billed on some other interval, we will divide your billing term into Usage Periods that are 30 days long.
Each Usage Period is evaluated independently, and unused usage does not "rollover" from one Usage Period to the next.
Storage Usage applies to files actually stored on Files.com. Files stored on a remote server mount, such as Azure, S3, Box, etc., do not count at all toward this category of Usage.
"Currently Stored Files" are the set of files that at any given time either (a) were uploaded to your account within the last 30 days (whether or not they are currently deleted), or (b) were uploaded to your account more than 30 days ago, and not yet permanently deleted.
Files that are deleted but retained because you have enabled our feature to keep deleted files for possible restoration (see the Settings > Files > Keep deleted files for setting) do not count as permanently deleted. If you have disabled this feature by setting it to 0 days, then files are treated as permanently deleted as soon as they are deleted.
“Live Storage Usage” is calculated by taking the sum of the actual number of bytes contained in each “Currently Stored File” plus a 64kb “Overhead” per file. The Overhead is to account for the storage costs of metadata such as logs, behaviors, permissions, and notifications associated with each file, as well as overhead costs that are passed through to us by Amazon S3.
We compute your Live Storage Usage several times per day, therefore changes will not be instantly reflected in real-time.
For each Usage Period, we consider your overall Storage Usage to be the highest level of Live Storage Usage recorded during that Usage Period.
Transfer Usage is the sum of the total number of bytes transferred from the Files.com network on behalf of your site during the Usage Period.
Files.com offers storage in various "Regions" around the globe (for example: Japan, Singapore, Australia, and Germany are each considered a separate region). Transfer Usage is calculated for each Region and then summed together. Moving or copying a file from one Region to another is counted as transfer in the receiving Region, plus its upload date for the purpose of Storage Usage is reset.
Many activities related to Remote Server Sync or Remote Server Mount result in billable transfer usage, but many do not. The below points summarize which activities are billable with regard to Remote Server Sync or Remote Server Mount:
- Syncing files between Files.com and another Files.com site (either direction) is not billable Usage to either Files.com customer.
- Syncing files between Files.com and any other type of Remote Server Sync (both directions) is billable Usage.
- Uploading files to a Remote Server Mount or Downloading files from a Remote Server Mount results in billable Usage if that traffic actually flows through Files.com's network. See the next section to learn exactly when this happens.
To further clarify the file actions which contribute to Storage Usage and Transfer Usage, here are some examples:
- Upload Files: Uploading files, creating, or updating new versions will contribute to storage usage. Using Sync and Mount will contribute to transfer usage because of the files flowing through Files.com network.
- Download: Downloading a file using any of the supported methods as well as viewing a file using file preview in Files.com will contribute to transfer usage.
- Deletes: When files are deleted, the files will contribute to reduction in file storage, When files are deleted, the files will contribute to reduction in file storage, however, these files are subject to a minimum of 30-day retention period.
- Copy: When copying files, this equates to a file upload and will contribute to an addition in storage usage. If the copy of files is within a mount, between mounts, between Files and a mount, or between regions, this counts as an upload + download.
- Moving: Moving files within the same region on Files.com will not result in any additional storage or transfer usage. However, if moving a file within a mount, between mounts, between Files and a mount, or between regions, this counts as an upload + download.
Traffic always flows through Files.com's network if the FTP, SFTP, or WebDAV are being used in any way, either as the client app or the remote server. Any use of FTP, SFTP, or WebDAV will always result in billable Usage in conjunction with Remote Server Mount. This is due to technical limitations related to these protocols.
Otherwise, if you are using one of Files.com's recommended client apps, including our Desktop App for Windows/Mac, iOS App, Android App, or CLI App for Windows/Mac/Linux, Files.com will route upload and download traffic directly to the Remote Server Mount if that capability is securely supported by the remote server. If this happens, that Usage will not be billable.
Currently this is fully supported for the Amazon S3 remote server type, and partially supported for Wasabi, Backblaze, and S3 Compatible remote server types.
We are investigating the ability to provide this capability for Box, Dropbox, OneDrive, Sharepoint, Google Drive, Google Cloud Storage, Azure Blob Storage, and Rackspace. If the ability to enable direct uploads for any of these remotes without having to pay for Usage is important to you, please let us know.
You can see your site storage and transfer usage at Settings > Account.
The top Usage summary box shows you a current billing period snapshot with the ability to break down your active storage by top-level folders.
You can also use the select menu to look at different billing periods.
Below the summary box is a graph showing you your site usage, both storage and bandwidth, over time. Toggle the view buttons and set the date window to see your usage for a particular time period.
Below Usage over time you can enable Storage overage notifications. This will alert your site administrators if your site storage usage in any billing period exceeds your plan quota. We only provide notifications for storage overages, and do not currently offer notifications for bandwidth overages.
Files.com does not currently offer the ability to set limits, quotas, nor report on Usage by user, folder, or inbox.
We do have customers achieving similar goals by using our Webhooks to update an external database of usage by user or folder.
For example, a Webhook includes a parameter indicating the size of the files being transferred.
When a user's measured "usage" reaches your predefined limit, you could disable the user's access via the API or SDK (set the user's disabled attribute to true) and delete any files you wish.
Then simply re-enable the user again via the API or the web interface when you deem it appropriate.
Get Instant Access to Files.com
The button below will take you to our Free Trial signup page. Click on the white "Start My Free Trial" button, then fill out the short form on the next page. Your account will be activated instantly. You can dive in and start yourself or let us help. The choice is yours.Start My Free Trial